Rule Britannia

I for one am quite excited about the coming weeks and months with the Queen’s diamond jubilee and the Olympics coming to town. I am a bit of a royalist and I think our traditions and pomp surrounding our Royals make Britain unusual and Great. I am proud to be British and I love walking through St James’ park and glancing over at Ma’am’s gaff!

I am hoping to head into London on Sunday and see some of the flotilla on the Thames. I also hope that on my travels, I manage to see a street party or two. What a fantastic excuse to spend time with your friends, family and neighbours and celebrating such a regal occasion. After the riots in London last year, I think London can really redeem itself and I hope we can show ourselves off to the World in preparation for the Olympics.

I am also really looking forward to the Olympics. This is a once in a lifetime opportunity for London to showcase all that is great about our capital city and to show the World that we can host the games and host it well. Working in London, I know that during the games, public transport is going to be extra busy and living in Kent near the Ebbsfleet international station, I am fully aware that there are going to be lots more cars on the road, people in general and a full capacity on our rail network. However, it is only for a few weeks and in the grand scheme of things it is a small price to pay to be in the host city. We have some fantastic athletes in this country and I hope we bring home some medals.

So I am a little miffed as to why so many people and the media are anti both events. I understand we are in a recession and that the games have cost a lot of money. I also get that the Royals cost tax payers money. I can’t seem to pick up a newspaper without some negativity surrounding either event. My local paper is adorned with negative articles about how the transport network will collapse and how the county will be overrun with visitors that we ‘cannot cope with’. It has been far easier to find articles about how the jubilee and Olympics will cripple us than to find out how to host your own street party. Don’t even get me started on the negativity written about our athletes especially how Jessica Ennis is fat!!!!
I am struggling to find many people who are looking forward to the events and many think this is a waste of time and money. I think this is such a shame. It is a once in a lifetime event and the government would only spend the money elsewhere. The Olympics are going to bring so much tourism to the UK and this in turn will bring a cash injection to the economy. I think it will be fantastic and London and the Uk can really show the world what a great place the United Kingdom is and demonstrate how a good party is done!

So this weekend and during the Olympics Bouche will be proud to be British! Come on and join me!

Bouche x x x

 

Leave a Reply

