Bouche does Butlins!

Earlier this year a good friend of mine sent out a group email asking if anyone fancied a weekend away. The last girl’s weekend that I been away for, was a visit to spa hotel with some girlfriends for my hen celebrations. So when I read the email I jumped at the chance for a restful luxury break.

However, a restful luxury break was not what she had in mind! The destination was to be Butlins in Bognor Regis, Sussex and it was for an 80’s extravaganza which would entail fancy dress and lots of alcohol. Did this deter me? Did it heck! Count me in I exclaimed!

So after months of preparation, we headed down to Bognor a couple of Fridays ago. I was a little nervous about what sort of accommodation we would be staying in. I had been to Butlins twice before in my teens and the apartments were extremely basic. However, I needn’t have been concerned. Our apartments were well maintained, clean and spacious.

After checking in and finding our apartments, we did what any self-respecting 30 something women do and had a shot and a vodka! We glammed up and headed out for the evening. Much alcohol flowed, shapes were cut and vast amounts of laughter were heard. The music was brilliant and we managed to catch Katrina and the Waves. It was a great night and we certainly had sore heads the next day! 

On the saturday, we headed into Bognor town and had a pub lunch and some even managed hair of the dog! After lunch the 4am finish the night before had finished me off and I headed back to camp for a well-earned disco nap, ready for the craziness ahead.

Saturday nights on these Butlins themed weekends are all about the dressing up. We all obliged and we did ourselves proud. We had Madonna, virgin airhostesses, some neon disco queens, buckaroo, ghost busters, a pregnant Frankie goes to hollywood fan and even a space hopper!

It was only when we reached the bar area that we realised how seriously people take the dressing up! There were a group of at least 40 Oaps, a group of Stevie wonders, Brownies, WWF wrestlers, top gun pilots, bagpuss, pink panther and even a group of Oompa Loompas.

Lets just say after two nights on the razz, and an afternoon of drinking cocktails and wine on the sunday, sunday evening was a little more tame and Bouche was in bed by 1.30am!

The entire weekend was EPIC and I am a total Butlins convert. Any stigma attached to holiday camp breaks has disappeared and I am even thinking about the next girls getaway. We are a very diverse group of ladies and everyone enjoyed themselves. It was one of the best weekends I have had and cannot wait to return!

Bouche x x x

4 responses

Leave a Reply

