Tunage Tuesday #10

Firstly, let me apologise for the missing Tunage Tuesday last week. It has been a tough couple of weeks and add that to a bank holiday and that equals lack of posts and no Tunage Tuesday!

Britain’s Got Talent was a little disappointing for me this year but one little piece of sparkle came from Michael Collings. Michael was the acoustic singer and guitarist. He has raw talent and he chose a beautiful song for his audition, and sang it again for the final last saturday.

http://youtu.be/H5Pmujt6pZc

He has such a rawness to his voice it makes the hairs on the back of my neck stand on end, and is perfect for this song. When he first appeared on Britain’s Got Talent in April, during the audition shows, the original version hit number 4 in the download charts. I love his original audition. Ant and Dec’s reaction is brilliant. I guess they didn’t expect him to be that good and they keep turning the camera to Michael’s girlfriend in the audience.

http://youtu.be/gTYmwyfJO3s

I love the lyrics to this song, which tell a sad story but somehow it is a tale of hope.

Tracy Chapman is a fantastic artist and I remember when this was released the first time around. I was about 9 and my little brother had just been born. I remember my Dad taking me to school and at the time we had a green Monza sports car. My Dad loves Tracy Chapman and whenever I hear this song it reminds me of when he was well and when he used to take me out for drives in his latest sports car.

http://youtu.be/dl6yilkU1LI

I think Tracy would be pleased that Michael sang her song with such conviction and soul. I hope this is not the last we hear of him.

Bouche x x x

 

 

Leave a Reply

