Fashion Rocks

London fashion week has arrived! I love fashion. I am not sure how much fashion loves me anymore but I like to know what is going on from season to season. In my early twenties I was quite experimental with my dress sense and I found I was able to express myself through the medium of clothing! There was one instance when my husband and I were clubbing , I was wearing brown suede boots, denim hot pants a chain mail top and crystals adorning my face. I don’t know how but it worked and my husband thought i looked hot! ha ha

As I progressed through my twenties I found my style. I guess I realised i could not pull off metal and hot pants anymore! I do think that I know what suits me, most of the time and I guess if I had to describe my style it would be Goth meets 1950’s Glamour.

My latest buys have been a gorgeous 1950’s inspired tea dress and pale pink and Grey Mary Janes (yes, I bought the same shoes in two colours). I wear a lot of tea dresses as they do flatter the more hourglass figure and are so pretty!

I also wear a lot of black (well it does make you look slimmer!) and I have jet black hair with a full fringe (apparently a trend of fashion week) so I guess I look a little gothic. I also love scarves the more punk the better. Skull and crossbones? Yes please.

With all this in mind. I am really pleased to see what some of the first shows have had to offer. Especially Topshop Unique and if i had the figure the below dress would be on the top of my list. I love the tights too. From what I saw of House of Holland’s show, the tights were amazing! I had better get saving for Autumn 2011!

Topshop Unique 1.JPG

PPQ’s designs embrace everything I love about runway fashion. It is fun, slightly gothic and very sexy! Like my favourite dress of the collection below.

My favourite designer of all time is Vivienne Westwood. I particularly love the outfit below that was shown on day three of London fashion Week. I love that it is edgy but still feminine. The skirt is just to die for! When i win the lottery a big spree at Westwood is one of the first things I would do!

I have loved Matthew Williamson ever since he launched butterfly range for Debenhams. From what I have seen of his show yesterday, I am in love! His use of applique on shift dresses and patchwork fitted jackets are so easy on the eye and are so me (well if I had the pennies for them!) Please don’t even get me started on the platforms!

I am looking forward to the seeing the collections from Julien Macdonald which is taking place right now, Giles Deacon, Fashion East and Anya Hindmarch this week. I am also pleased to see that Autumn / Winter 2011 trends include tuxedo jackets, hats (yay love a hat!), Black cat flicks of eye make up (think winehouse or Bridget Bardot), bright tights and Big bold colours. Better ditch some of the black next winter!

So for now, I can sit and admire. One day, I might make some shows and eventually own a garment or two as seen at London fashion week!

One response

  1. Pingback: Tweets that mention Fashion Rocks « Bouche in the City -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

